2020 Seed Call for Proposals Assessment Panel

Meet the assessment panel who will be carefully reviewing the applications for Seed funding in 2020, which closes on 20 March 2020.

External panel members

Prof John Hine

Panel Chair. Emeritus Professor - School of Engineering and Computer Science, Victoria University of Wellington

Dr John Kennedy

Research Scientist - Ion Beam Physics, GNS Science

Assoc Prof Aaron Marshall

Associate Professor - Biomolecular Interaction Centre, Department of Chemical and Process Engineering, University of Canterbury

Assoc Prof Steven Mills 

Associate Professor - Department of Computer Science, University of Otago

Prof Jonathan Roberts 

Professor in Robotics- Queensland University of Technology, Australia 

Dr Kevin Ross

Research Director - Orion Health / CEO, Precision Driven Health

Prof Holger Regenbrecht 

Professor Human-Computer Interaction - Department of Information Science, University of Otago

Prof Mengjie Zhang 

Professor - School of Engineering and Computer Science, Victoria University of Wellington

Prof Simon Bickerton 

Professor - Mechanical Engineering, University of Auckland

James French 

Chief Scientist, BBC Technologies Ltd


SfTI assessment panel members

Leadership Team:

You can learn about each panel member on our website:

  • Prof Don Cleland
  • Prof Stephen MacDonell
  • Prof Bruce MacDonald
  • Dr Katharina Ruckstuhl
  • Prof Geoff Chase
  • Prof Ian Woodhead
  • Dr Elspeth MacRae
  • Assoc Prof Urs Daellenbach

Kāhui Māori - Advisory Group:

Assoc Prof Taka Keegan (Waikato-Maniapoto, Ngāti Apakura, Te Whānau-ā-Karuai ki Ngāti Porou and Ngāti Whakaaue)

Programme Office:

Dr Willy-John Martin (Ngāti Wai, Ngāti Whātua, Ngāti Tamaterā), Manager Vision Mātauranga and Capacity Development