About us
Mō mātou

The 11 National Science Challenges (NSCs) were established in 2014 and aim to tackle the biggest science-based issues and opportunities facing Aotearoa New Zealand. They bring together our top scientists to work collaboratively to achieve their objectives.

Overseen by the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE), the NSCs are a core part of the NZ government’s investment in science, with just over $680 million of funding over 10 years.

The Science for Technological Innovation Challenge (SfTI) launched in 2015, is one of 11 National Science Challenges. SfTI is a 10-year (2014-2024) science investment with a mission to enhance the capacity of Aotearoa-New Zealand to use physical sciences and engineering for economic growth and prosperity.

The SfTI challenge is generously hosted by Callaghan Innovation.