Assessors - 2021 Kaupapa kākano Seed project fund

On this page you can find a list of the Assessors for the 2021 Kaupapa kākano Seed project fund.

Vision Mātauranga (VM) Assessors

The following VM experts will be reviewing the VM proposals for alignment based on three principles/pou outlined in the CfP document: See section ‘Te Aromatawai - Assessment of Vision Mātauranga alignment’ on page 7 for more information.

Dr Katharina Ruckstuhl 
Ngāi Tahu, Rangitāne

Theme Leader, Vision Mātauranga & Co-Theme Leader Building NZ’s Innovation Capacity; 
SfTI Leadership Team; Associate Dean Māori, University of Otago 


Assoc Prof Te Taka Keegan
Waikato-Maniapoto; Ngāti Porou; Ngāti Whakaaue

Kaihautu, SfTI Kāhui Māori 
Associate Dean Māori, Computing and Mathematical Sciences, University of Waikato 


Dr Pauline Harris 
Rongomaiwahine, Ngāti Rakaipaka and Ngāti Kahungunu ki Wairoa

Senior Lecturer, Centre for Science in Society, Victoria University of Wellington


Dr Jason Turuwhenua 
Ngāti Porou, Ngāi Tūhoe

Senior Research Fellow, Auckland Bioengineering Institute, University of Auckland 

Dr Nancy Garrity 
Ngāti Makirangi, Ngāti Pāoa, Ngāti Hine

Manager, Ao Māori Science Interface, Mātauranga Scientist, Institute of Environmental Science and Research (ESR)


Technical Assessors

In addition to the SfTI Theme Leaders, the following Technical Assessors will be reviewing the proposals that align with our  three Technical research themes: Materials, manufacturing technology and design; Sensors, robotics and automation; Data science and digital technologies. Please note, we are awaiting confirmation on one more Assessor, this will be updated here as soon as possible.

Prof Gill Dobbie 

Professor - School of Computer Science, University of Auckland

Dr Kevin Ross 

Research Director, Orion Health; CEO, Precision Driven Health 

Assoc Prof Yun Sing Koh 

Associate Professor - School of Computer Science, University of Auckland 

Dr Nadia Pantidi 

Lecturer in Computer Graphics, School of Engineering and Computer Science, Victoria University of Wellington

Prof Jonathan Roberts  

Professor in Robotics, Queensland University of Technology, Australia  

Prof Elizabeth Broadbent

Professor - Psychological Medicine, School of Medicine, University of Auckland 

Dr John Kennedy 

Research Scientist, Ion Beam Physics, GNS Science 

Assoc Prof Nicola Gaston 

Associate Professor - Department of Physics, University of Auckland; Co-Director, MacDiarmid Institute

Dr Fiona Stevens McFadden 

Principal Engineer, Robinson Research Institute, Victoria University of Wellington 

James French 

VP Head of Innovation at TOMRA Fresh Food