Our Board

SfTI’s four member Board is supported by three independent science advisors and a host observer from Callaghan Innovation.

Photograph of John Bongard

John Bongard ONZM


SfTI’s inaugural Chair, John was appointed in March 2016 for three years.

Retiring in 2009 after almost 36 years with Fisher & Paykel Appliances, including as CEO and Managing Director, John’s continued business and entrepreneurial involvement has included serving as Netball New Zealand Chairman, as Deputy Chairman of the Vodafone Event Centre Trust, and as Local Chairman of BNZ Highbrook.

John is also Deputy Chairman of the Totara Foundation, Chairman of the Sky City Auckland Community Trust, and of PSCTH Thailand, and the Director of H J Asmuss, NARTA Australia, and WilliamsWarn.

Committed to the South Auckland community where he grew up, John chairs The Rising Foundation, a programme which assists Otara, Manurewa, Papakura, and Pukekohe youth.

Photograph of Linda Cooper

Linda Cooper

Board Member

Currently Chief Financial Officer for Livestock Improvement Corporation, Linda has a successful financial and operational management background in manufacturing, telecommunications, and agri-business.

With experience in international operations in the USA, and strategic and financial planning, Linda is a Director of several livestock improvement corporation subsidiaries. She is a member of the University of Waikato Management School Advisory Board, and the NZ Institute of Accountants.

Photograph of Gottfried Pausch

Gottfried Pausch

Board Member

Gottfried brings senior level executive experience with multi-national engineering and technology corporation Siemens AG in New Zealand and overseas. A Director of Blackhawk Tracking Systems, Wellington Drive Technologies, McKay Ltd, and AuCom Electronics, in 2009 he was Executive in Residence at business incubator the ICEHOUSE, and an investor with Ice Angels.

Photograph of Craig Ellison

Craig Ellison

Board Member

Chair of Ngāi Tahu Seafood, Seafood New Zealand, and Wellington Zoo, Craig is also Director of Aotearoa Fisheries, and the Sealord Group, as well as a trustee of Poutama Trust. He is a past Chair of the NZ Seafood Standards’ Council.

Craig has previously served on the Board of Airways New Zealand, NIWA, the Trade Liberalisation Network, New Zealand Trade and Enterprise, and the Treaty of Waitangi Fisheries Commission (Te Ohu Kai Moana). 

Photograph of Rosalie Nelson

Rosalie Nelson

Host Observer

Rosalie is the General Manager of Strategy, Impact and Insights at Callaghan Innovation.

Science advisors

The SfTI Board values the expertise of its three science advisors:

Photograph of Richard Blaikie

Richard Blaikie

Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research and Enterprise, and Professor in Physics, Otago University

Photograph of John Raine

John Raine

Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Pro Vice-Chancellor Research and Innovation, AUT University

Photograph David Williams

David Williams

Professor in Electrochemistry, Auckland University